“Because after all,
your love,
for me,
was all I wanted,
and you gave of EVERYTHING, but that.

And now I must relinquish myself of you,
repent from our irreverent love,
wash your scent from my skin, white out your name from my poems and from my prose, paint over images of you in my head, with bright blinding fluorescent colours, swear at the utterance of your name,

and try,
earnestly,
to forget any memory I have of you.

Because even after all this time,

My bones still shatter under the weight of a whisper of your name.

One of the one’s I wanted to keep to myself,

However, this is a small extract from one of the first ever spoken word pieces I’ve written.

– Niketa

Leave a Reply

